New Jersey Foreclosure Help – Stop Foreclosure in New Jersey

 


Finding Foreclosure Help in New Jersey

Foreclosure prevention counseling services are provided free of charge by nonprofit housing counseling agencies working in partnership with the Federal Government. These agencies are funded, in part, by HUD and NeighborWorks® America. There is no need to pay a private company for these services.

Newark Field Office

One Newark Center
1085 Raymond Boulevard
13th Floor
Newark, NJ 07102-5260
Phone: (973) 622-7900

Fax: (973) 645-2323

TTY: (973) 645-3298

Diane J. Johnson
Field Office Director
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Monday through Friday

Camden Field Office

Bridgeview
800-840 Cooper Street, 2nd Floor
Camden, NJ 08102-1156
Phone: (856) 757-5081

Fax: (856) 757-5373

Michael J. Worth
Field Office Director

Office Hours: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM
Monday through Friday

New Jersey Foreclosure Laws Summary

Quick Facts:

  • Judicial foreclosure process is available.
  • Non-judicial foreclosure process is not available.
  • The primary security instruments are mortgages.
  • The timeline can vary by process, which typically takes 90 days.
  • The borrower has rights of redemption.
  • The lender may sue for deficiency judgements.

The judicial foreclosure process is the only method that lender can use to foreclose mortgages in default in New Jersey.

Judicial Foreclosure
The judicial foreclosure is done with the lender filing a lawsuit to obtain a court order to foreclose. If the court finds that the borrower is in default, it states the amount that the borrower has to pay and sets a time period for him to come up with the payment. If the borrower is unable to pay within after the time period has passed, the count clerk will declare the property up for sale.

A notice of sale must be posted in the county office and in the property itself. Aside from these, the notice must also be published in at least 2 newspapers in circulation in the county.

The lender must send a letter to the borrower at least 10 days before the sale, informing them about the upcoming foreclosure sale.

The lender may file for a deficiency judgement and the borrower has until 10 days after the foreclosure sale to redeem the property.