Connecticut Foreclosure Help – Stop Foreclosure in Connecticut

 


Finding Foreclosure Help in Connecticut

Foreclosure prevention counseling services are provided free of charge by nonprofit housing counseling agencies working in partnership with the Federal Government. These agencies are funded, in part, by HUD and NeighborWorks® America. There is no need to pay a private company for these services.

Hartford Field Office

One Corporate Center

20 Church Street, 19th Floor
Hartford, CT 06103-3220

Phone: (860) 240-4800
Email: ct_webmanager@hud.gov

Fax: (860) 240-4850
TTY: (860) 240-4665

Jurisdiction: State of Connecticut

Julie B. Fagan
Field Office Director

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday

Connecticut Foreclosure Laws Summary

Quick Facts:

  • Judicial foreclosure process is available.
  • Non-judicial foreclosure process is not available.
  • The primary security instruments are mortgages.
  • The timeline can vary by process, which typically takes 60 days.
  • The borrower has no rights of redemption.
  • The lender may sue for deficiency judgements.

Lenders in Connecticut may foreclose on mortgages in default through a judicial process only.

Judicial Foreclosure
In Connecticut, there are two ways of how to go about the judicial process. These are by strict foreclosure or by decree of sale.

The strict foreclosure process is done by obtaining a court order to foreclose once the borrower has defaulted on a mortgage. The title of the property will be automatically transferred to the owner once the court order is approved.

Before the property becomes permanently owned by the lender, the court allots a time period wherein the borrower may reclaim the property. If the borrower is unable to pay his balance in this time, the lender will be able to claim the property by recording a certificate of foreclosure within 30 days, which states the details of how he became the owner of the property.

The decree of sale is done with the court appointing a committee to sell the property. The property must first be appraised by 3 people to determine its value and it can then be sold on a specified time and date.

The foreclosure sale can be stopped as long as the borrower is able to pay his debts before the sale. If not, it will continue on as scheduled.

Deficiency judgements can be filed in Connecticut.